What I’m Thankful For This Year

Like most of you, my heart has been deeply moved by the headlines of the last few weeks.  Storms, loss and pain have been everywhere.  So this year I thought I’d put together a different kind of Thanksgiving list.  In light of the losses experienced by so many others this year, these are the things that I’m thankful for.

Every child and teacher that I personally know, returned home safe and sound on December 14, 2012.  Some of the parents who had children at Sandy Hook Elementary weren’t so lucky.

I did not lose my house to fire, flood, tornado, or typhoons. 

When I was thirsty I could go to the sink or refrigerator and get fresh clean water anytime I wanted.

Food was always available when I was hungry.

I had the right to vote.  To drive.  To an education.  Something many women around the world don’t have.

On the morning of April 15th I had two strong legs.  On the evening of April 15th I still had two strong legs. There are several people in Boston for whom that was not true.

I did not have to kiss my husband goodbye and send him off to war, wondering if that would be our last kiss. 

I did not have to beg for clothing or medical care for myself or others in my family.

When the temperature soared and I pushed a button, I had cool air.  When the temperature dropped and turned to freezing, I pushed a button and had heat.

When I walked somewhere, it was because I wanted to and not because I had to. 

I did not lose any body parts or die due to an IED.  Soldiers, civilians, and children in war torn countries did.

I slept in a bed and not on the street.

I had a Bible in my own language that I could read whenever I wanted.

I lived in a neighborhood and not a refugee camp.

I need absolutely nothing for Christmas.

As we sit down to overeat this Thanksgiving, I pray that all of us will have grateful hearts for the abundance that we have been given.  I also pray that we will find ways this holiday season to give to those who have lost so much.   Happy Thanksgiving

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What I’m Thankful For This Year

Leave a Reply

